Lost Socially

Remember when there was a time we could meet up outside with a ring of a doorbell.  You open the door with excitement, smiling at your friend down the street or next door neighbor ready to run the streets, but in reality you weren’t even leaving the front yard. Then having a anxious feeling toward the sudden situation to ask your parents to go hangout.  Sometimes even getting your friend to walk up and they ask for you cause you didn’t want to hear a no.  Playing man hunt until the street lights flickered on, then you were sprinting home so Mom and Dad didn’t notice.  Exploring the dried up creeks and the crazy passage ways through the woods coming along ponds and daring each other to cross it.  Laughing at that one kid who couldn’t make a leap across and dirty water splashing up their gym shorts and everyday shoes. The time we didn’t need technology to meet up.  We didn’t need technology to have thousands of “friends”, we were content with the everyday neighborhood kids. As a kid my parents always worked, I’d walk everywhere just to go see a friend.  No phone, no call to say I am coming. It was nice taking a risk to see if they wanted to hangout, and if let down in person I’d go hangout and enjoy my own time somehow with nature. With all the technology do you ever feel you lost the face to face conversation abilities?  I remember in 8th grade I was still confused what twitter, facebook, instagram, or snapchat was.  I didn’t have a cool Iphone like everyone, I was still sending the corny hearts with the number 3 over a LG rumor touch.  What I didn’t have a problem with was coming up to meet people, being able to feel confidence talking to peers or people, also wasn’t involved in much drama due to my dis-attachment.  As a young adult I cherished the time I spent in nature as a kid.  I wish I could escape this technology and going back to the same person I was when I was young and careless.  Oh well, guess it’s just playing keep up with society now.

One thought on “Lost Socially

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑